Realizations At the Honda Dealership

I drew some conclusions while waiting for my car to be worked on…

1.  Being faithful to the vision that God has given you = Success.

2. My opinion on marriage = my opinion on Heaven. 

I was reading one of my favorite books whilst at the dealership (it’s called the Art Of Being, the book not the dealership), and I read something that I really disagreed with.  I was part-way through Tammy Trent’s essay (talking about her wedding) when she described her feelings prior to the ceremony.  She thought “This is it, our lives are about to begin”.   Well I disagreed with that, and I’ll tell you why. 

(And again, this is something which I’ve applied towards heaven, and now to marriage as well). 

It’s not a new life, or a new start… it’s putting a new name on what you’ve been creating all along.

At first I thought it was ironic that I was using my heaven theory towards marriage, but then I remembered that scripture primarily uses marital/wedding metaphors for heaven (which is WAY more ironic).

Then they gave me a free carwash, and I wrote a sweet song on the ride home.  “Do you feel it, do you feel my love?”.

4 Responses to “Realizations At the Honda Dealership”

  1. Joe Says:

    Well, you’ve been hiding this blog thing for a bit. I like your view of Heaven and marriage.

  2. Joe Says:

    Speaking of marriage, what do you think of the lyrics to the Guys and Dolls song “Marry the Man Today”?

  3. sarahrusso Says:

    Well firstly, you ALWAYS squeeze a melon before you buy it. That’s how you know it’s ripe.
    But seriously, the song kind of naively implies that you can marry an extremely “flawed” person, in hopes of changing them later.

    In my opinion, the standard litmus test for whether or not to marry someone is “Would you marry them right now, knowing that they may never change?”

    There is a small hint of redemption in the song, with the concept of marrying someone as they are (except without the changing them later part). I think a huge part of marriage is acknowledging and accepting each other’s “Flaws”, and rather than one person forcing the other to change, you compromise based on your priorities and mutual surrender.
    That’s actually the only reason why I respect arranged marriages. They’re such a testimony to acceptance and diligent compromise (at least the non-abusive, egalitarian ones).

    I was getting a manicure from an old Vietnamese man a few years ago, and he gave me some very interesting relationship advice. Firstly, he told me to stop biting my nails, because it’s undesirable and would stop me from finding a boyfriend. Then he said something really profound.

    He said (in broken English) “Relationships are like going into the forest and picking out a tree. But it takes work and commitment, so don’t chop it down unless you’re willing to carry it home.”

  4. Joe Says:

    Yeah, when I first heard the song, I thought basically what you were saying. But the song did say one thing that I agree with: It’s a gamble. You just can’t know how it’s going to end up, but you’ve got to take chances.

    Your manicurist is awesome. But if we’re not supposed to bite our nails, then why do they taste so good?

Leave a Reply

